Addressing the ever-shrinking credibility of rock journalism since 2007. With a sasquatch.

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Deep Cuts: Folk

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes - Up From BelowAlex Ebert and Jade Castrinos lead a group of ensemble musicians with roots in new American literature, social consciousness, 1960's communal culture and believe it or not the late 90's electronic rock scene in LA as Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes.

After taking a leave of absence as front man for from the highly successful Ima Robot (1998-2008), a dance/electronic rock act in 2008 due many factors including drugs and an increasing personal distance from the clubs and crowds involved with the band, Alex Ebert began writing a novel about a modern saint. In Ebert's words Sharpe was: "sent down to Earth to kinda heal and save mankind, but he kept getting distracted by girls and falling in love."

Ebert, with singer Jade Castrinos, recruited a group of highly trained musicians in Southern California some coming from an art and music collective called The Masses. The group's first full length album "Up From Below" was released in July 2009 and is Edward Sharpe's debut in a musical sense.

The band's current line-up is a 10 piece consisting of:

Alex Ebert – vocals, guitar, percussion, piano
Jade Castrinos – vocals, guitar
Stewart Cole – trumpet, percussion, keyboards, tenor ukulele, vocals
Josh Collazo – drums, percussion, saxophone, vocals
Orpheo McCord – drums, percussion, marimba, vocals
Nora Kirkpatrick – accordion, vocals
Christian Letts – guitar, vocals
Seth Ford-Young – bass, vocals
Mark Noseworthy – guitar, vocals
Christopher "Crash" Richard– vocals, percussion

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros released their second full-length album, "Here", in May of 2012. Their third album, the self-titled "Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros", was released on July 23rd 2013 a week after their performance at the Bonnaroo Music Festival in Manchester, Tennessee.

Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeroes - Janglin

No comments: